New Humanity Movement

Health: Person, Environment

childrenA pediatrician’s action in a Recife hospital: Agreement with her colleagues who wish to live fraternity, making them more aware of their patients’ problems. In this way a project for correct nutrition develops that involves the whole region.

from Maria Aparecida de Araujo - Recife (Brazil)

My name is Maria, and I’m a doctor specializing in pediatrics. The ideal of fraternity has given meaning to my life, but in particular it has revolutionized my professional vocation.

A few years ago, I heard Chiara Lubich encouraging people in the same work-environment to agree to live the spirit of fraternity together in that same place. It was an agreement that would give us an opportunity to be more attentive and receptive to the problems of the city and of work-places, improving working structures for the benefit of everyone. I was really interested in this proposal.

I work as a pediatrician in a hospital clinic in Recife and I remembered that there were at least two people I could share this choice with—they already knew and lived for fraternity. Straightaway I told them of my desire to make this agreement with them and they accepted. It seemed easy to see each other every morning and renew our commitment to live for our patients and colleagues, involving ourselves in a way that others could notice, but it wasn’t—we had to overcome human respect, rationalizations, and judgments. But slowly, without getting discouraged, a more human relationship grew between our colleagues and with the patients, and this helped us to give more concrete replies to their questions, fully understanding their sufferings.