New Humanity Movement

Social Ethics

gelaDeacon and inspector: This was Rocco Goldini, who recently passed away, the protagonist of a draft for education to legality in a territory with a strong mafia connotation. Rocco brought the brotherhood as a model to solve together the emerging problems.

By Rocco Goldini - Gela (Italy)
My name is Rocco, I am a deacon and an Inspector and Chief police officer of Gela, my home town in southern Sicily. Rosa and I am married with three children.

Last year I was instructed by my command to hold "Lessons of safety education and legality" in schools of all levels.

This year, particularly in a primary school, the manager has made a request to start an "educational" course even for teachers, by presenting a project to be extended later to pupils in primary schools.

"Investing in Education", "Active citizenship", "Participation and Co-responsibility" are the themes of a message that is new, especially in education, helps to give the subject, in this case a boy, a "pro-social" model for its growth, limiting the damage and dangers that the road today presents. It is the challenge that the Municipal Police Command of Gela approved by marrying the project I submitted.

Thus it was possible to create a path to empowerment, to start changing habits and customs in a land where the mafia is very present, frayed by a fragmented culture: bringing together various educational agencies, schools, families, institutions public education in a path of dialogue, proposing to eliminate the "against" and to let the "for" in.

I set out from the highway code and took only parts, which are of interest to primary school children, namely the parts  regarding pedestrians: the road markings, road signs, how to move from home to school safely, and then how to spend the free time, with the use of the first vehicle that we have all ridden, the bike.