New Humanity Movement

Social Harmony and Art

Suore PoloniaSister Malgorzata’s arrival at a grey institutional building which houses abandoned children in Bardo in Poland’s Lower Silesia.  With the help of the other sisters, she manages to change the lives of the children, involving them in a project that captures the imagination of the whole city.

From Sister Malgorzata - Bardo (Polonia)

I am Sister Małgorzata, from the Sisters of Mary Immaculate. I live in Bardo and I work as a teacher in an orphanage.

I already worked in this orphanage a few years ago and returned after being away for six years. I walked into a very difficult situation not least because of a poor relationship with the director and a high staff turnover which resulted in a situation that was not very positive for the children. I realized straight away, especially because of the very sad atmosphere there was in the house, that everything that had been built in the previous years had all come to nothing.

One day I heard that Sr Janina had arrived in Bardo, an Ursuline sister who like me lives for a united world by seeking to build fraternity wherever she is. We got in touch with one another and started meeting up regularly with other sisters in order to deepen our knowledge of the Gospel by sharing our experiences of how we try to translate the Gospel into life.

From that moment on I regained the strength to go ahead again in my work with the children. I suggested almost immediately that we should throw the ‘dice of love’ – this is a normal six-sided dice but on each side there is a different phrase to be lived that can help to build fraternity amongst us.  By trying to live this way I start to see little miracles happening.